Our Mission

Bringing together, promoting and assisting heritage & historical organizations located in Southeastern Ontario, Canada.

Site Map

The Lockmaster’s House Museum in Chaffey’s Lock is operated by the Chaffey’s Lock and Area Heritage Society. Downstairs the Museum showcases the history of the hamlet with information about the lockmasters who operated and managed this Rideau Canal lock, which the Museum overlooks. Upstairs is a display about the Chaffey’s Lock Women’s Institute (WI), a driving force in the community throughout most of the 20th century. Among many other initiatives, the WI spearheaded the construction of the nearby Community Hall.  The quilt which hangs along the stairwell was stitched by the members of the WI in 1979 and is one of the most asked about artifacts in the museum.

Visitors are welcome to watch the video “The Golden Times”, which features rare footage of life in Chaffey’s Lock in the 1930s and ‘40s.  They can also browse through a selection of books, tee-shirts and other items in the gift shop.

Museum Hours: July & August 9:00am to 4:30pm daily.
Location: 1724 Chaffey's Lock Road, RR1 Elgin, ON K0G 1E0
To get to Chaffey's Lock, take Highway 15 to Chaffey's Lock Road, about halfway between Kingston and Smiths Falls.
Contact: Chaffey’s Lock and Area Heritage Society
Dave Brown (President) dave@brownsmarina.com
Sue Warren (Museum Curator) sjwarren@msn.com
Lockmaster's House Museum Website